Home | Features | Reviews | Preview – Rovex John Wilson Avon/Quiver DeLuxe 11-13ft

Preview – Rovex John Wilson Avon/Quiver DeLuxe 11-13ft

By

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Preview – Rovex John Wilson Avon/Quiver DeLuxe 11-13ft

Jeff examines the very latest version of an long time favourite rod amongst anglers.



ROVEX JOHN WILSON SIGNATURE AVON QUIVER

This is how Angling Direct, a retailer of Masterline, describes it -

Masterline Rovex John Wilson Avon Quiver Deluxe, is new for 2010!  The orginal John Wilson's 11ft Avon Quiver system was probably the best selling rod of all time. But for 2010 production has moved to Jarvis Walkers factories giving improved quality levels improved specifications and greatly improved prices.

100914jwaq1_266119098.jpgThe rod is New For 2010, is 11ft with a dolly butt to enable it to be fished at 13ft , its ideal For A Huge Range Of Angling Applications! Comes supplied with 1 Avon Rod Top, 1 Quiver Rod Top, plus 3 Push In Quivertips!

We are so amazed by this rod from the Masterline stable that we would like to give you the opportunity to try it for yourself and if after 10 days you are not completely satisfied, simply call us and we will arrange for collection and we will refund the price of the rod in full!

Built with ultra high modulus carbon, the John Wilson Avon Quiver System consists of two top sections, one is a standard Avon top, the other a quiver tip section which is supplied with a choice of three different push in tips of varying test curves to cover whatever situation you may encounter. Also supplied with a dolly butt, enabling the rod to be fished at 11ft and 13ft.

With lined rings throughout and a test curve of 1.25lb, the rod will cope with hook links down to 1lb and reel lines up to 8lb. The possibilities are endless....When using the hollow tip,  its suitable for fishing down the margins with a float, or up in the water with a pellet waggler. With a quick change of the top section, you can be fishing the method or the ‘tea bag’ (PVA) within a matter of minutes! The rod also copes effortlessly with moving water, if you are targeting Chub, Barbel or Roach, casting maggot or groundbait feeders. At this amazing price it makes sense to always have one ready in your holdall as it will cope with all fish and conditions you may encounter.

All in all a rod for all seasons and a rod for all reasons. And lets face it; if you buy this rod you are in fact buying 2 different rods for the price of one!

RRP - £79.99
 
Angling Direct are offering this superb rod currently for only £49.99 (click here for details)



100914jwaq2_700314064.jpgThe Reviewer says –

It was back in the early 1990’s that I first heard of a John Wilson Avon Quiver and when I saw one, I thought they were the best idea since sliced bread! I got one and after I’d used it I recommended it to anyone I met who commented on it. I also said that for most anglers, all they ever required was 2 rods, a decent float/match rod and a John Wilson Avon Quiver and that would cover 90% of their angling needs.

It was true then and it is still true today. These rods will handle anything from a 6ozs dace to 15lbs carp in still or flowing water. I have such confidence in them, I recommended them to a close friend of mine who was starting up and he not only bought one for himself, but one for his grandson also. In fact, he uses it most of the time he goes fishing now as at 11ft, it’s shorter than his float rod and he can get it under the trees.

These rods are just so versatile and comfortable to use, you can even use them with a pellet waggler. My early one was just the 11ft with no extensions, but this new one has the extension to 13ft provided. That will be of benefit to anyone wanting long casting of feeders and bombs or greater control of an Avon style stick float in a river. The handle is removed and the dolly butt inserted before the normal butt section, quite neatly too.

100914jwaq3_467197751.jpgThe rod is still finished in its familiar green and it is a fully ground (sanded if you prefer) blank to produce a completely smooth surface along all of its length and equipped with good rings that will be OK to use with braid if you wish. The reel seat is a comfortable screw down type that will take a reasonable sized reel and the handle is of suitable length too, making it easily transferable from one hand to the other.

It is still, without doubt, the ubiquitous rod it always was doing almost everything an angler requires of it. Anyone starting up fishing or moving to specialist angling could do no better than to get one of these rods. At the RRP of £79.99, reduced from last year's price, it would be a bargain, but with Angling Direct's amazing offer it becomes something you just cannot afford to miss.

Click here to go straight to Angling Direct to get one.


Don’t miss out!

 







By the Same Author



Rate this article

5.00




Comments (20 posted):

Paul H on 16/09/2010 15:08:39
avatar
A very timely review. I have literally just been recommending 'The Wilson' as a great rod to a mate at work. I even took mine in yesterday for him to have a look at, such is my conviction in its all-round genius. The only thing (without holding a new one) that I can see different is that they've replaced the screw-down reel seat with a neoprene grip rather than it being full cork, only a minor change, but still an aesthetic shame.
Jeff Woodhouse on 16/09/2010 15:13:58
avatar
they've replaced the screw-down reel seat with a neoprene grip Can't understand that on the pictures, the rod I have here has a cork front grip. No neoprene anywhere. Hope this helps.
Mithrandir on 16/09/2010 15:58:23
avatar
I got the travel version for my birthday this year, so probably the old production, only fished a couple of times with it but a cracking rod.
Richard Farrow on 16/09/2010 17:06:33
avatar
I have both of the previous models, the 11ft with 2 tops, one a quiver and the newer 11-13ft with a standard top and a another top with a choice of 3 push in quivers. This new rod sounds like a combination of both. I have no quibbles at all about my two rods and think they are excellent bits of kit, especially given their price.
Dicky (Angling Trust PAC) on 16/09/2010 18:12:08
avatar
I have 2 of the MK2 1.25tc Masterlines and 1 of the 1.75 barbel version... Great rods! A bit gutted that the design/ manufacturer has changed slightly because I need some spare parts.
Paul H on 16/09/2010 20:23:03
avatar
the rod I have here has a cork front grip. No neoprene anywhere. Good show. I'd like to think John insisted on it :)
Jeff Woodhouse on 16/09/2010 20:26:39
avatar
A bit gutted that the design/ manufacturer has changed slightly because I need some spare parts. Check with them, Dicky. The new parts may well fit the old, not sure, but if the tapers were kept the same there's no earthly reason why not.
J K on 16/09/2010 22:56:05
avatar
I see the quivers are still Red, Yellow and Green but what are their weights?
Kevin Plaskitt on 17/09/2010 06:44:01
avatar
I bought a travel version off ebay earlier this year and was so impressed went and bought a second. Both cost less than £45 including postage. Great to keep one in the car for unexpected sessions. Its great for chub!
the indifferent crucian on 17/09/2010 09:05:00
avatar
It's as well they changed the handle, as it was prone to breaking and wouldn't accept the rather larger feet of old reels. They have also dropped the 2 foot extension section I believe, though it maybe that it is again available in a 'deluxe' rod. The poor handle came in with the grey blank, but I think the last ones made had it beefed up, or so I am told. The tips are 1.5, 2 and 3 ounces, though this advert suggests otherwise...it might be useful for spares though.... John Wilson Avon Quiver Spare Tips | Ted Carter Fishing Tackle This rod has been made by so many people in so many guises now it's getting hard to know what is current and what is old stock. There are definitely rods for sale with a screw-down cork handle and other with a screw down neoprene handle. Some are priced at £49.99 and some at £99.99:eek:
Lord Paul of Sheffield on 17/09/2010 09:55:15
avatar
I've have both the JW avon - bought in 2006 so not sure wich Mk it is and the JW avon travel - both are nice rods - prefer them as a quiver tip rather than a float rod unless I'm float fishing for carp The travel revision is a good rod for those like me who don't like telescopic rods, also it gives you the option of both quiver and float rods with the convenience of only one rod- bought mine this year for £50 - I take this and a 11ft Daiwa travel spin (again not telescopic) that doubles as a carp and pike rod and I find all of my holiday fishing rod needs are covered
Jeff Woodhouse on 17/09/2010 10:01:10
avatar
This rod has been made by so many people in so many guises now it's getting hard to know what is current and what is old stock. There are definitely rods for sale with a screw-down cork handle and other with a screw down neoprene handle. Some are priced at £49.99 and some at £99.99You should find that all the stock at Angling Direct (follow the links in the Preview) is new stock and it is the Deluxe with the 2ft extention. Hope this helps.
Jeff Woodhouse on 20/11/2010 11:49:28
avatar
[CENTER]*** news *** news *** news *** news *** YOU CAN NOW GET THE JOHN WILSON AVON/QUIVER FOR JUST £39.99 - THAT'S HALF PRICE! OFFER ENDS MONDAY MIDNIGHT.[/CENTER]
geggsnick on 20/11/2010 18:03:31
avatar
I see the quivers are still Red, Yellow and Green but what are their weights? Does anyone know the answer to this as i took mine out today and should of had a bit of a lighter tip on i reckon? i haven't had much fish action on mine yet (3oz gudegon and the smallest minnow i have ever seen:eek:) but it seems ok feels balanced not too heavy to hold.:D
capbrown on 19/01/2011 14:42:21
avatar
I have had this rod given me as a present - does anyone know how to fit the extension piece please??????
geggsnick on 19/01/2011 15:25:17
avatar
I have had this rod given me as a present - does anyone know how to fit the extension piece please?????? pull the butt section apart
greyandy on 19/01/2011 19:26:36
avatar
Some are priced at £49.99 and some at £99.99:eek: Or £129.99 at Banbury's premier tackle emporium and daylight robbery specialsits 'Castaway Fishing Tackle'. (NOTE:- Special offer price only available to visiting newbies).
peter crabtree on 19/01/2011 19:44:48
avatar
My only bugbear with these rods is why put a ring on the extension as you have to break everything down to stick it in...........?
Jeff Woodhouse on 19/01/2011 20:42:21
avatar
why put a ring on the extension as you have to break everything down to stick it in.Ahhh! When you fit the extension after you've threaded line and fitted end tackle, fit the extension so that the rod ring is sticking up, out of the way. Then you can use it like a gunsight to point it at the fish! :D Only kidding. :p Nowt's perfect is it? Have you used it yet Simon and more importantly, caught anything on it?
peter crabtree on 19/01/2011 21:02:15
avatar
Yep . set it up in my front room last night to give it a wiggle and caught the girlfried right on the chin with the butt. I'm starving tonight . she is upstairs in bed and refuses to cook. Luckily the rod is still OK........


Add a comment

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

No tags for this article

Follow FishingMagic!