Home | Features | Reviews | Splitstop - The Biggest Innovation since the Hair-Rig?

Splitstop - The Biggest Innovation since the Hair-Rig?

By

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
The best inventions are often the simple ones - and this one could just make your fishing a whole lot easier! The best inventions are often the simple ones - and this one could just make your fishing a whole lot easier!

Will Barnard reviews a new product that is ‘potentially ground-breaking’

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If I was to sit any of you down and state I was about to show you a new item of tackle that is potentially ground breaking, you would, no doubt, roll your eyes and recall how many times you’ve heard this before - as indeed have I and most of my mates...


If I promised you that it would make something you do regularly during the course of your fishing a lot easier, like a lot of my friends, your interest would perhaps be piqued...
 

If I stated that I could almost guarantee a time when you would see worth in its application, you would, by now (just as myself and my mates did) be asking what the hell it is...


I would then watch you deflate in a huge anti climatic heap as I uttered the words:

“Yea, it’s a boilie stop!!”


“Yea, it’s a boilie stop!!”Really??!! You’ll exclaim in variable tones, just as I did when I was first introduced to the SPLITSTOP from Laguna Pristex.


I’ll explain it to you, as it was explained to me, as I in turn explained it to my cynical and hardy crowd of fishing mates. It’s so very simple and makes sense as soon as you see it.


The images here let you see how it looks of course but it’s what it enables you to do that really appeals and which has the potential to make your fishing a lot more simple – and a lot more productive.


To me it means I can now go tench fishing in the summer and be able to present the bait on a hair that dictates bites without having to go armed with different hooklengths and then worry that I’d made a change too soon. Heck, I don’t even need to tie a loop.


I simply tie a single strand hair to the maximum length I may require and blob the end (or tie a knot depending on hook link material) and pass it through one of the splits in the SPLITSTOP.


If the fish are fizzing over my bait and obviously feeding hard without so much a twitch on the rods, I can now just reel in, shorten the hair by simply rolling the SPLITSTOP up the line and securing it in place by clipping the line into one of the grooves without any fuss and disruption.


The SPLITSTOP mean no more loop tying and needles – although of course you can still use them with a traditional hair if you so wish. They come in a variety of colours to match various baits, have a matt, anti-glare finish and they are buoyant too so they help to negate the weight of your hook and assist with presentation; and they are easily trimmed back if required. Easy to handle with two sizes of split and a hole through the middle they offer un-rivalled presentation possibilities.


A mate of mine who I had the exact same conversation with is similarly a convert. He does a lot of barbel and chub fishing. If he has a bait out for barbel and starts getting those quick ‘chubby’ plucks, he likes to change things around in order to convert these bites to fish on the bank as to nail chub effectively you need to have your bait tight to the hook – long hairs result in missed chub! Often he would then be concerned that he might have harmed his chances if a whiskery one did put in an appearance.


The rig ideas are endless...Being of a, let’s say, fairly lazy nature, the thought of re-tying rigs and links really didn’t appeal but now, with the SPLITSTOP, he can simply roll the hair length up in order to have his bait tight up to the shank of his hook. Invariably he’ll connect with a few chub.
When this action dies down, he simply un-rolls the hair and holds out for a barbel or two.


So, I didn’t lie. It is innovative, it can make things easier and regardless of whether you use it or not, it is easy to see its uses for a number of applications.


The packaging features comprehensive instructions and some novel rig ideas for presenting baits such as paste, clusters of baits, meat and soft cheese.


The SPLITSTOPS will be hitting the shelves of tackle shops by June 2013 at an RRP of £2.50 to £2.99 for a packet of ten - BUT if you want to get your hands on some now, and with it being chub time of year I’d suggest you do, then yellow and clear ones can be purchased HERE on iSellTackle for a special introductory price of just £0.99.

 

BUY NOW







By the Same Author



Rate this article

0




Comments (22 posted):

on 08/11/2012 19:05:02
avatar
erm...........................................................................no.
geoffmaynard on 08/11/2012 19:11:47
avatar
Ermm.... yes! That all make a lot of sense. I'll have a go. it's only a couple of quid - what's to lose?
guest39 on 08/11/2012 19:21:13
avatar
Probably not for my styles of fishing, but I won't criticise someone who is trying to make a living. Good luck with the launch Chris.
cg74 on 08/11/2012 19:52:41
avatar
Ermm.... yes! That all make a lot of sense. I'll have a go. it's only a couple of quid - what's to lose? "what's to lose" Errm, at a guess a couple quid?!! Two questions: How do you get the bait onto the hair and how much line is taken with each half rotation of the stop?
geoffmaynard on 08/11/2012 20:25:36
avatar
A 1) Push the blobbed or knotted hair through the bait with a baiting needle - same as you normally would. A 2) it looks like about 2 to 3mm
on 08/11/2012 20:37:26
avatar
Ermm.... yes! That all make a lot of sense. I'll have a go. it's only a couple of quid - what's to lose? £2! THey may work, but biggest thing since the hair? ..... nah!
geoffmaynard on 08/11/2012 20:45:48
avatar
THey may work, but biggest thing since the hair? ..... nah! Yeah, maybe so. I reckon PVA probably takes that title - we all have our own opinions. I've yet to see these splitstops but they look pretty good to me. I can see applications for them
Mr Cholmondeley-Corker (PaSC) on 08/11/2012 20:46:22
avatar
Push the blobbed or knotted hair through the bait with a baiting needle - same as you normally would. I would normally pull the hair through the bait with the hook on the end of a needle.
on 08/11/2012 20:48:19
avatar
Yeah, maybe so. I reckon PVA probably takes that title - we all have our own opinions. I've yet to see these splitstops but they look pretty good to me. I can see applications for them It all depends on when the hair was really "invented" ;) i knew we would miss Ron :)
geoffmaynard on 08/11/2012 20:52:20
avatar
It all depends on when the hair was really "invented" i knew we would miss Ron I can tell you that. And it wasn't KM and Mr Middleton as I used to think... :)
cg74 on 08/11/2012 20:56:48
avatar
A 1) Push the blobbed or knotted hair through the bait with a baiting needle - same as you normally would. A 2) it looks like about 2 to 3mm So corn and small boilies are a no, no then. I was under the impression a baiting needle wouldn't be needed, must have misread LaGuna's posts on another thread. Shortening your hair length by 2 to 3mm could be handy (if that's how much it reduces by?), may well buy a packet but a major innovation it ain't.
geoffmaynard on 08/11/2012 20:57:39
avatar
I don't usually post links to other sites but this one is to a dead site anyway: [url=http://www.fishing.co.uk]www.fishing.co.uk The article was originally accompanied by the Angling Times cutting to which is referred but the image was lost in a server/software "upgrade".
on 08/11/2012 21:01:42
avatar
I can tell you that. And it wasn't KM and Mr Middleton as I used to think... :) At least we kicked the thread off Geoff ;)
Jeff Woodhouse on 08/11/2012 21:16:33
avatar
Just seen this on Chris' website. Still pondering, but what the hell is . Component for the ROE-LOOP cluster rig . Component for the MANAKIMBO rig . Component for the JESUS rig Am I allowed to tie a Jesus rig if I'm a non-believer? And - "Less dangerous to use than a baiting needle" Only time I stabbed myself with a baiting needle was with a packet of Sonubaits 16mm Hallipellets that had really hard centres for some reason. The needle got deflected and came out the wrong side of the pellet and straight through my finger. I was brave though and pinched down the barb on the needle, pulled it back out and treated the wound with Kryston's Klinik. Carried on fishing, but I doubt that these Splitstops would help in that situation. Incidentally, Googled Splitstop and found some very nice screws that don't split wood when they go in. So thanks, they look useful.
geoffmaynard on 08/11/2012 21:20:30
avatar
So corn and small boilies are a no, no then. I was under the impression a baiting needle wouldn't be needed, must have misread LaGuna's posts on another thread. Why are they a no no? Just thread 'em on a needle and pull through. Easy peasy! :)
cg74 on 08/11/2012 21:27:10
avatar
Why are they a no no? Just thread 'em on a needle and pull through. Easy peasy! :) Because the size of knot/blob shown in the article would split corn and small boilies.
Judas Priest on 08/11/2012 21:35:43
avatar
Oh God not another latest greatest thing since the invention of the wheel,best thing since sliced bread blah blah blah How long does it take to clip on a new hook link with shortened or lengthened hair, or for that matter how long does it take to actually tie a new hair. Not long and one hell of a lot less fidley than this latest can't do without.
on 08/11/2012 21:43:07
avatar
i hear it holds bananas particulary well.
laguna on 09/11/2012 06:01:26
avatar
No need for a big knot or blob guys, the splits are 0.2mm and 0.35mm to accommodate different hair thickness's. A single overhand small knot/blob will be enough to prevent the hair from slipping through. Will Barnard wrote about the hair length being adjustable and the products ability to be used with or without a loop or needle... SPLITSTOP's wont suit everyone's particular style of fishing like this, but can still be used normally as a traditional dumbbell with a hair loop, or opened to form a "T" shaped meat stop or even opened completely flat to form a crucifix for holding paste etc. which makes them a little bit more versatile. When used without a loop or needle, the knotted/blobbed hair can be simply passed through the hole of a pre-drilled bait. For soft meat, cheese and corn, just pull the knot/blobbed hair through with a small gated baiting needle - the type used for splicing a lead core. Alternatively with dry, firmer baits like Babybel, a needle fly tube punches out a neat little hole ready for the hair to pass through (you can also use those flat-ended ink cartridge needles). With softer baits not liable to splitting, a simple modified plastic Q-tip with a "V" shaped notch cut in the end of the tube serves as a push tool to feed the knot/blob through quite easily too. I hope you find them a useful alternative, thanks.
agamemnon on 09/11/2012 07:55:54
avatar
ok so you poke a knot through a delicate bait and the bait splits. not for me ill happily stick with hair rig in its normal form
geoffmaynard on 09/11/2012 12:10:44
avatar
I think Chris should send us all a packet of freebies to field-test! :):wh
Jeff Woodhouse on 09/11/2012 16:03:04
avatar
I think Chris should send us all a packet of freebies to field-testOK, but I recently bought a load of Pallatrax boilie stops, what do I do with them now (keep it clean!) If I want to short the hair I normally twist the hair around the hook shank, that seems to do the trick. Always worked for me. Don't wish to knock the idea outright without first seeing it, but an awful lot of stuff is developed and never catches the anglers' attention. A mate of mine spent around £20,000 developing a pole pot that looked like a witch's hat. It did actually work, but was simply ugly and cumbersome in use and in the end he couldn't give the damned things away. Anyone remember the Rainbow system of depth finding that Graham Marsden tested? That's another! I think in order for something to really catch on it must instantly be a) well understood without question, b) cheap and affordable for everyone to buy (relative to the technology used of course) and c) be needed or "How the hell did I manage all these years without one?".


Add a comment

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

Reviews, Laguna, Splitstop

Follow FishingMagic!