rod help!

cal_sutt

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm wanting to buy a couple of rods, so far I've got a terrible Kingfisher float rod (would've binned it by now but I started fishing with this rod), a Lineaffe telescopic spinning rod which sucks and then I've got my 2 trusty carp rods which I'm happy enough with. I want to buy a couple more (cheap and cheerful) rods to cover a wide variety of methods of fishing.

I'm very keen on feeder fishing and the method has always produced really well for me so far. I've feeder fished the river a fair few times too and, again, this has worked for me. I can feeder fish effectively enough on my carp rods but I want something more forgiving for when I fish small rivers and stillwaters when targeting smaller species, so what should i get? Bearing in mind my budget is low as I'm a student LOL.

Also, as I live nearby the Chesterfield canal, I do a lot of float fishing for roach, perch and bream, so I also want to get a rod that I can continue to do this... looking at a new float rod has proven to be the most difficult for me, as I am wanting to get a rod to cover both light float work on canals and ponds, as well as pellet waggler tactics on bigger lakes after carp to 15/20lb.

I'm not struggling too much with picking a feeder rod but some recommendations would be nice. The float rod is really causing me to struggle though so some help would be very much appreciated! Think of it as if I want both a float and feeder rod, that can cover some heavy duty work as well as the light fishing for the smaller specimens.

thanks, cal.

aebitim

Reaction score
Bit difficult to answer, no budget and a jack of all trade rod really isnt there, daiwa proteus power float and a mach 1 shaky feeder rod at about £100 the pair might fit the bill

sam vimes

Reaction score