Boilies

denzinho

Reaction score
Hi

I am not very new but I'm new to targeting big carp. I have bought my first ever pack of boilies which are round balls of goodness apparently. I understand hair rigs etc which I am going to do to catch a "hopeful" 25lb fish or atleast high double's. I am planning on using PVA (the plastic kind) bags to have my bait just sitting underneath my hook. I will be using a semi-fixed lead (2oz lead with lead clip) so the fish hooks its self. Do I have a good plan? without being patronizing.

Thanks

Steve

greenie62

Reaction score
The young Match Jedi should steer clear of The Dark Side - starting playing with PVA Bags and Boilies definitely The Dark Side is! :eek:
Use the Force for Good and avoid the Evil of The Dark Side and the corrupt Trade Federation!
May The Force be with you!
:thumbs:

law

Reaction score
The plastic PVA is commonly known as 'solid bags'.
They can be a pain to make and when I first started using them, left me in many tangles.

I'd suggest using mesh PVA to start. Make a bag just bigger than a golf ball and simply hook it just under the knot.

laguna

Reaction score
Could never understand the point of bags that float, you will end up having to perforate them yourself before casting out anyway... or stick a rock in.

sam vimes

Reaction score
Could never understand the point of bags that float, you will end up having to perforate them yourself before casting out anyway... or stick a rock in.

Solid bags are fine if you prepare them, and their contents, carefully, they certainly shouldn't float. However, when fishing solid bags, the lead, hooklink and hookbait bait usually go into the bag along with the freebie bait.

As law suggests, it's generally a lot less fuss to use mesh bags if it's just for boilies.

denzinho

Reaction score
Thank you for the replies guys...My internet was down for a while and I went to catch the big one using my angling instinct :confused:.