Help with my float set up!?

Reaction score
Right so I'm just starting out i have fished in the past but never serious or passionately but I've taken a real shine to it lately so what better to do than learn a new hobby,

so my setup seems to be causing me some problems and I'm hoping someone can help I'm currently using a Ron Thompson 10ft match rod with a Shimano baitrunner 6000 ST reel spooled with 8 pound spider line with a 4 pound hooklength i usually have good couple of foot depth which is checked with a plummet two BB shots a foot from the float another NO 1 shot half a foot from that and a no 6 shot as the tell tale shot and a size 12 hook (ready tied) to a swivel and attached to my mainline, some times I will get two very small roach (possibly) in one day if I'm lucky but most weeks I blank!

Please someone help me out?

itsfishingnotcatching

Reaction score
Assuming you're fishing a waggler, try bulk shotting either side of the float with one dropper a float length down to set the float, the bait will sink slightly faster than loose feed (the weight of the hook) but should enable you to get bites at all depths. From your post, it's hard to determine what you're targeting but 8lb line suggests Carp or large Tench, Personally, I'd start with a 2.5lb hook length, a smaller hook, and see what's about. Choice of bait may also be a factor.

iannate

The fish made me do it!
Reaction score
Hi Jake, I know you posted this a few days ago, but just adding my ten penneth:

Itsfishing has it about right, you haven't given us much information to go on so we can only draw conclusions, which may be way off the mark.

I'm using a lot of generalisations here as each situation will require tweaking, I will assume that you just want to increase the number of roach (and small bits) that you catch to begin with.