I want a big carp...

the joker

Reaction score
Hi fellas and fellasses,

Off work Monday so I'm going to a fishery that I've never tried before called astwood fishery in bromsgrove, I've had a look on the fishery guide and apparently it has carp up to 30lbs..

Any advice on how to increase my chances of catching, I've got maggots, meat, corn, boilies and bread so that's most areas covered, is there any real way to catch the bigguns? Or is it a matter of chance when I 15lb+ swims by?

Cheers,
Joker

john step

Reaction score
Almost impossible to answer. By the very nature of the question it would be assumed you have not an immense amount of experience. That is not meant rudely by the way. Build experience over time(years?) and the biggies will come.
I suspect that on a bank holiday Monday there will be many on the bank and the disturbance will lessen chances anyway.
Enjoy every fish as it comes. The red letter days will happen.

Last edited:

the joker

Reaction score
I am inexperienced at carp fishing, you're right, I usually fish rivers but due to the closed season I thought I'd try some different lakes to see what's what, I always fish for the joy of it, but everyone loves catching big fish right ;)

nocatch

Reaction score
Err no,
i personally just enjoy fishing no matter what i can enjoy to photograph and enjoy

InteraX

Reaction score
Hi fellas and fellasses,

Off work Monday so I'm going to a fishery that I've never tried before called astwood fishery in bromsgrove, I've had a look on the fishery guide and apparently it has carp up to 30lbs..

Any advice on how to increase my chances of catching, I've got maggots, meat, corn, boilies and bread so that's most areas covered, is there any real way to catch the bigguns? Or is it a matter of chance when I 15lb+ swims by?

Cheers,
Joker

As with everything fishing, it all depends. :)

Weather plays a big part. I went yesterday and blanked. It was colder than previous days and the fish had calmed down a bit.