Stalking Advice

chris k

Reaction score
I'm new to Carp fishing, and fancy giving stalking ago at my local water. My question is this; I want to use a small ledger weight with a small hook link. Now I don't want to use bait alarms, I just want to lay the rod on it's side. Obviously because of this you would have little bite indication unless you see the carp physically take it, and also you don't want the danger of your rod being pulled in. So do you fish this method with bail arm open or just engage the bait runner??

Many thanks in advance.

chav professor

Reaction score
What about a rod, couple of light banksticks and a bobbin...... if your stalking use a swan shot.... Works well with bread.... keep the line slack and watch the line for bites if you want. You will stand out from the crowd - but stick with it.... You can use nice lightish rod Avon, possibly 1.5lb test curve and 8lb line - though happily use 12lb with little issue.

Last edited:

chris k

Reaction score
Cheers Chavvy, it's the kind of fishing that appeals to me. I have a 1.25 tc Avon rod could I possibly get away with that??

nicepix

Reaction score
In shallow water I use a sliver of wine cork with a slot cut into it so that it just holds onto the line and is placed about 2 metres above the weight. The float is allowed to drift a bit by letting some line out before the rod is placed down. Bite indication is when I see the float sliding along the surface.

In deeper water I use the same sliver of wine cork as a bobbin. It falls off the line when it hits a rod ring.

cal_sutt

Reaction score
For me its either:
Freelined bread crust, 8lb line, size 8 hook and maybe a surface controller
-or-
8lb line again, two ssg shots to just hold bottom, hair rigged 2 real grains of sweetcorn with a floating grain on top to pop it up, size 10 hook... Spot on

Had my largest braces of carp (and tench and bream) using these methods, for the 2nd option feed lightly on a mix of pellets, sweetcorn and hemp