Newbie carper

bigyun2000

Reaction score
Hi all.

I am a newbie to fishing in general starting in August 2013 at the age of 51. Although a late starter I really enjoy the time at the bank. I have been mainly fishing for Carp on my Preston Mini Carp 10ft rod on a feeder either Banjo or normal. Best catch so far is 19lb 7oz.

But I want to try for the bigger fish. I have 2 x Daiwa Whisker DF rods with 3.25 test curve with 2 x Daiwa Crossfire 5500 LBA reels and 2 x Fox M+ Alarms

What I would like to know is:

1. What variety of leads would be recommended? (Commercial Fisheries)
2. What variety of rigs would be recommended? (Commercial Fisheries)

The rigs and the leads would be purchased online.

Any information would be greatly appreciated please

sam vimes

Reaction score
The test curve of the rods and size of the reels you get should be bought with the size of the water and how far you are casting in mind. Are you certain you mean Crossfire reels and not Crosscast? I believe that the Crossfires are general coarse reels and Crosscasts are pit reels. Unless you are intending to fish at great distances or cast hefty bag rigs, the 3.25TC rods (coupled with a big pit reel) might be well over the top. Such kit is primarily aimed at casting long distances. Much depends on what exactly constitutes a "commercial fishery" to you.

In turn, to an extent, the size of the leads you use should depend on the distances you are having to cast. However, I would suggest that the lightest lead that most modern carpers use will be 1.5oz. Many will never go that light. The maximum you should use will depend on the rods you end up with.

The rigs you should use will depend on the baits you intend to use (pop ups, bottom baits, wafters, particles (corn, tigers etc)).