Difficult Barbel Advice...

T

Tony O'Dell 2

Am currently fishing two seperate stretches for Barbel, both of which are regarded as being slow/hard. Am facing a couple of problems on each, and would be grateful for some advice
1)
Stretch 1, i am currently fishing in mouth of weir. Problem being is getting any loose feed onto the bottom. I have sued a bait dropper from the top of the weir, but how long would any bait that i have deposited on the bottom stay there?. The dropper lands on the bottom where i put it ( i used braid and a spod rod and feed it down till it touches the bottom ) I have also used the largest Drennan Flat feeder which hold the bottom okay. The second rod is nailed to the bottom using a 2 1/2 oz lead.
Would i be better of using PVA bags ( small ones ) I wolud assume using small bags of pellets made with funnel web pva would be the way to go, but i have no experience of using PVA, so any advice would be excellent ( what rig to use, how to attach bags to hook etc )
Bait wise halibut pellet and boilie are both accepted, hence the desire to put of reasnoble amounts of pellets at regular intervals.
2) The second stretch was one i fished about five years ago with high degree's of success. Now it seems things have changed. One angler who seemed very genuine put forward the idea that the barbel were shying off beds of hemp, which seemed to attract vast shoals of dace and gudgeon. Has anyone seen this before?. Would meat be a bad idea on a hard fished stretch of water during the daytime?. Do barbel shy away from Boilies like they do from meat during the daytime?
Again i think PVA might be the way forward....i am worried that using the bait dropper might scare and barbel in the area, and they might not feed again in that area for quite some time.
By the way..this is the Ouse we are talking about...so it is a bit different to other rivers...or its it...the barbel have still got to feed havent they !

R

Ron Troversial Clay