Chub Fishing

Prince

Reaction score
Hello,

Having fished for Barbel, Carp, Pike and Catfish for the past 14 years I have finally decided that it's time for a change.

So....... I have decided my new target species will be Chub. With the exception of catching the odd one by accident whilst Barbel fishing I'm a real novice.

Therefore can anybody help me and point me in the right direction? Equipment, Bait and venues in the North West would be really appreciated.

Thanks in anticipation.

Mike

nicepix

Reaction score
The secret of catching chub is to fish for barbel. Back on the Dearne I could catch them as quick as I could throw them up the banking.

sampras43

Reaction score
I'm also just getting back into chub fishing this season after giving up as a teenager back in 86 and would also welcome any tips or advice.

I did a little chub fishing back then but never in the winter, and growing up on the Ouse it was fairly easy fishing from memory, and most came on bread flake or maggot.

Closest river to me these days is the Colne (Denham, Ricky, Uxbridge) and so far it's been hard work, no doubt made a lot more difficult with the recent flooding. All I've managed so far is 2 2lbers on cheese paste.

The amount of snags and fast water over the last few weeks I've found it virtually impossible and I'm convinced if I had access to some other rivers I'd have a lot more success.

Last edited:

The bad one

Reaction score
Hello,

Having fished for Barbel, Carp, Pike and Catfish for the past 14 years I have finally decided that it's time for a change.

So....... I have decided my new target species will be Chub. With the exception of catching the odd one by accident whilst Barbel fishing I'm a real novice.

Therefore can anybody help me and point me in the right direction? Equipment, Bait and venues in the North West would be really appreciated.

Thanks in anticipation.

Mike