Coconut pellets question? Coconut as a flavour question?

no-one in particular

Reaction score
Apart from trout pellet, I have never used pellets before. I was in the pound shop yesterday and on a whim I bought a pack of pellets, you guessed it, for £1.
When I got home I noticed they were coconut flavored. Never heard of coconut before, which species would they attract, are they any good? is coconut a good flavor?
When I used trout pellets a long time ago we used to scrunch them up and mix it with egg to from a paste, very effective on the commercials I fished back then and I often wondered if it was the egg that attracted the fish as much as the trout pellet, should I do the same with these? ( I am not very good at hair rigs and complicated fiddling, prefer to just put on the hook, a bit old fashioned but there you are, just me)
Were trout pellets mixed this way harmful to fish and if so; would these cheap pellets if mixed the same way be harmful as well?

(its 9.29am !)

Last edited:

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
Last edited:

rubio

Reaction score
Can't offer you any accounts of using these but for sure coconut has been used for carp. Hair-rigged. Which is not a complicated process with just a little practice. If you are looking for a cheap coconut flavour mix try adding some coconut milk powder. Costs less in local asian food shops than supermarkets. It didn't seem to harm catches used with liquidised bread. but also wasn't obviously catching any more than bread alone.
Good luck with 'em

john step

Reaction score
Lots of coconut stuff in bait form.
However as to hair rigs, why not try some ready tied hooks with hair rigs and bait band a go. Easy to use. Nothing to lose.

The bad one

Reaction score