Advice on a new pole (beginner with a small budget)

mac92

Reaction score
Hi everyone, so as the title suggests I'm looking to purchase a new pole I'm a relative beginner to pole fishing and I currently own a 6m margin pole which I'm having a blast using however as I'm sure many of you have experienced I want that extra length mainly to reach features at the fishery I use that I currently can't get anywhere near. So I was hoping some of you on here could point me in the right direction as mentioned my budget really isn't huge it's looking to be around £150 pounds im wondering if I could get an 11m pole in my price range any advice on this would be MUCH appreciated I've seen some on sites like dragon carp etc under the "Avanti" brand name but I presume based on the prices that stuff is poor? Any advice would be brilliant so thanks in advance and thanks for reading!

ravey

Reaction score
Second hand will give you more bang for your buck, especially if you can find a friend someone who's just upgraded.

Good enough for you to get more experience with, and when you upgrade yourself, then you will not lose much.

Ideally something long and rigid, those are what most anglers seek in a pole. Also, something strong enough to cope with big fish, if there is a high chance of connecting with them eg carp.

mac92

Reaction score
Thanks for the tips ravey! And personal suggestions you can think of off the top of your head that I should keep an eye out for?

arthur2sheds

Reaction score
If you can push the budget to £225 then take a look at the Drennan Red Range
they do an 11mt pole with a spare top and it's rated to a size 20 elastic comes with side pullers as std and all you have to buy is a bit of elastic as all the connectors and bungs are included in the price... I have one and so far it has coped with 12lbers with ease:cool:

bennygesserit

Reaction score
I have fished with a cheap 11M pole really its only practical at about 8M after that it gets heavy and a bit springy.