waggler fishing

associatedmatt

Reaction score
not pellet waggler in summer months for carp but just genral waggler up in the water for whatever comes along .

Is there a tick to when fishing up in the water to know how deep to fish if im after roach and carp and maybe the crucians if come up for the deck . Also do ypu find the bigger roach deeper or up higher ?

sagalout

Reaction score
I am no expert and this advice is worth what I am charging for it but start of 6" of the bottom and then work up shallower. If you are getting liners and foul hooking then you are to deep, if you ain't not no how getting no bytes then you are to shallow or the fish ain't feeding on your bait in your swim at that moment in time.

associatedmatt

Reaction score
good way how to do it , but is there a point keep feeding a swim little and often if the fish are not there ? how long as a rule would you keep feeding before shallowing up or changing area ?

thames mudlarker

Reaction score
not pellet waggler in summer months for carp but just genral waggler up in the water for whatever comes along .

Is there a tick to when fishing up in the water to know how deep to fish if im after roach and carp and maybe the crucians if come up for the deck . Also do ypu find the bigger roach deeper or up higher ?

I normally fish at about half the depth of the swim that I'm fishing and work from this, at times you may need to actually shallow up or go a little deeper, by doing this You'll be in constant contact with the fish.

From past experience the bigger roach normally stay towards the bottom layers of the lake or river but I find that this is only in general because nothing is set in stone and manyatimes I've also seen big roach right up on the surface dimpling and feeding :D

sagalout

Reaction score