Canal Fishing with Bread Punch

Stealph Viper

Reaction score
I am still new to Canal Fishing even though i have fished them once or twice.

What i would like to know is what size bread punch would you start with. I have a selection of Drennan Bread Punches from 2mm up to 8mm. The hook sizes i have range from a size 22 to a size 18.

I plan on feeding liquidised bread on the near shelf and the far shelf. I am also going to try Pinkies and Hemp (mainly as loose feed)

On the near shelf i am going to use a whip and the far shelf my pole with a number 3 elastic through the top 2 sections.

The fish are mainly Gudgeon and small roach but there are also some nice size Roach, Perch and Skimmers.

I also read somewhere that microwaveing slices of bread for 10 seconds and then rolling them out for the bread punch, is this necessary ?

peter crabtree

AKA Simon, 1953 - 2022 (RIP)
Reaction score
Just use bread straight from the packet,medium or thick sliced. Feed a walnut of liquidised from your cupping kit and fish over it with your smallest punch. Increase the size of punch and hook if bites are quick.

Graham Whatmore

Reaction score
Microwaving bread makes the bread doughy so it holds on the hook better and not at all necessary, start small and increase the size if you are catching regularly.

Be careful how much liquidised bread you feed, less is best and always bear in mind that bread is an instant bait, we used to try it for 30 minutes and if there was no action forget if for the match, straight away or not at all is the way to go.

Hemp needs to be trickled in a bit at a time at regular intervals but it can take an hour or longer before they start to take it. Try it at regular intervals until they come on - or not as the case may be.