FishingMagic Forums

Go Back   FishingMagic Forums > FRESHWATER FISHING FORUMS > Coarse Fishing
Register Forums Blogs Classifieds FAQ Calendar Arcade Search Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16-10-2009, 20:33

Stealph Viper will become famous soon enoughStealph Viper will become famous soon enough
Default Canal Fishing with Bread Punch

I am still new to Canal Fishing even though i have fished them once or twice.

What i would like to know is what size bread punch would you start with. I have a selection of Drennan Bread Punches from 2mm up to 8mm. The hook sizes i have range from a size 22 to a size 18.

I plan on feeding liquidised bread on the near shelf and the far shelf. I am also going to try Pinkies and Hemp (mainly as loose feed)

On the near shelf i am going to use a whip and the far shelf my pole with a number 3 elastic through the top 2 sections.

The fish are mainly Gudgeon and small roach but there are also some nice size Roach, Perch and Skimmers.

I also read somewhere that microwaveing slices of bread for 10 seconds and then rolling them out for the bread punch, is this necessary ?
Old 16-10-2009, 20:46

peter crabtree will become famous soon enough

Just use bread straight from the packet,medium or thick sliced. Feed a walnut of liquidised from your cupping kit and fish over it with your smallest punch. Increase the size of punch and hook if bites are quick.
Old 16-10-2009, 20:49

Graham Whatmore has a spectacular aura aboutGraham Whatmore has a spectacular aura aboutGraham Whatmore has a spectacular aura about

Microwaving bread makes the bread doughy so it holds on the hook better and not at all necessary, start small and increase the size if you are catching regularly.

Be careful how much liquidised bread you feed, less is best and always bear in mind that bread is an instant bait, we used to try it for 30 minutes and if there was no action forget if for the match, straight away or not at all is the way to go.