Trotting

Paul Harvey

Reaction score
I am quite new to River fishing and at the moment have only concentrated on quiver tipping. I am interested in trotting for Chub/Dace and I am wondering if it is necessary to splash out on a centre pin, or if my fixed spool reel will do?

D

Dave Silvers

Fixed spool will do nicely for starters, closed face reels used to popular for trotting but their use has declined.
The main problem with using fixed spool is tangles when it is windy, and of course they don't run as smoothly as a centre pin, but lots of anglers still use them.
You can always upgrade later if you feel the need but I would stick with what you've got for now.

J

John McLaren

I agree with Dave, there are enough new skills to learn (like mending your line) to have to worry about how to use a dufferent type of reel. Once you have some experience in trotting then you can decide whether you want to get a 'pin.

S

Stu Black

Like Dave say's, stick with your fixed spool and either backwind at the pace of the river, or let the bale arm off and keep the line spooling over your finger to control it. This time last year I asked a similar question! Use a float bigger than you would normally, so you can control its movements better, experiment with depths, and most importantly KEEP FEEDING!!!

S

Stu Black

The best tip I was given was use a float as heavy as you can get away with!! It makes so much difference when you're trying to mend the line etc you can be a bit heavy handed without upsetting the line too much!
Try it?

S

Stuart Bullard

Cant really disagree with whats been said. However after a few visits when I first started trotting (and I love it), I met someone with a pin and was instantly hooked. Bought one the next week.

If you have the cash and know you want to carry on, get a pin and start learning now, its great fun.

Mind you, that pi55ing wallis cast still defeats me........

Paul Harvey

Reaction score