downstream dryfly

mambrino

Reaction score
I have no experience of fly fishing and know the following is not the proper way to start.However I don't understand why it won't catch fish.
I have mainly been into long trotting for coarse fish (preferably chub). Although while doing this I like some others have caught the odd trout unintentionally.I have also caught chub in the summer floating crust downstream on the surface with a small float laying flat on the surface as described by John wilson.Some larger chub are solitary,very easily spooked and like trout will be facing upstream.Consequently I would have thought that floating a dry fly down stream in a similar way,to possible trout lies,would work just the same.
Hope someone can explain to me why this method won't work before I am daft enough to waste my money on some flies to try it.
Thanks in anticipation
Rod....

keora

Reaction score
Wheb casting a dry fly downstream, in most cases it will be immediately affected by drag. It will start to skid along the surface, leaving a wake behind it. Trout normally aren't deceived by this. Sometimes if the current is slow, the fly might drift naturally for a few yards before it starts to drag. Paying out more fly line doesn't usually stop the drag.

Don't forget that trout will be positioned facing into the current, and so can easily see the fly line and the rod and the angler.

It's more effective to cast upstream with a dry fly. You can get quite close to the fish without being seen.

I do a lot of chub fishing with floating crust in summer. Adding a small carp controller to the line, rather than a conventional float, will give you greater casting range. In some swims I prefer to free line the crust, as the splash of the controller as it hits the water seems to put off the chub.

You could buy a few dry flies - greenwells glory, klinkhammers, (size 12 or 14) some dry fly floatant such as gink, and have a go using a carp controller.

Last edited:

Paul Boote

Banned