Hello from SE London

fishplate42

Reaction score
My name is Ralph and I live in South East London. A few weeks so ago I decided that as I am now pushing 60 and my 'little' brother, Tim, is now pushing 50, it was about time we found something we could do together that we were both interested in. We hit upon fishing. Having never fished before (other than sticklebacks from a stream 50+ years ago) I decided to search the internet for information and guidance. As the heading will tell you I had zero knowledge of fishing techniques, tackle or even the fish. I am pleased to tell you the task was successful. I am now an expert on all aspects of fishing with a rod and line - I have watched several on-line videos and read many pages of text....

... All joking aside, I have learnt the very basics. A few weeks ago I had no idea how to attach a float to the line or what a plummet was, let alone what it is used for. I have taken the plunge and bought some basic gear for two and hopefully will be able get my brother along as well. He did some fishing as a kid but when he was interested in fishing, due to the age gap, I was more interested in the birds and I do not mean the feathered kind.

I have been reading some of the fishing forums and got some advice about how to start. All good advice too, so I have ordered a rod and reel, and reserved a starter set at Argos that was on special offer. I suspect that some of the stuff in the starter set will get replaced fairly soon but with an outlay of about £130.00, all in, I have more than enough kit to allow both of us to go and drown a few unsuspecting maggots. I wonder If Tim has told his wife he will be storing the bait in the fridge...

I have posted some more pictures of the tackle we have already bought on our blog, I need to work out what else I need. First on the list will be a couple of nice comfy seats; don't want this to be too stressful.