what lure rod

njord1963

Reaction score
Hi everyone, complete newbie to forums and fishing. Been excited and enchanted by thought of lure fishing after much research on google. Fancy fishing for perch and possibly light piking on reservoir near me. Would a Bushwacker 7-13 xlnt spinning rod be decent rod to start with. My thinking is to keep things light and cast small lures for perch as well as slightly larger for small pike ? Not sure what would prevent big pike taking bait though so unsure if this rod too light. I do like idea of keeping set up light though. Any input much appreciated. Cheers :) ps also looked at Greys Prowla Gs Lite range of rods.

Derek Gibson

Reaction score
It's always a bit of a compromise when you undertake light spinning, and you are unsure what gear you will need. Especially if you're troubled by the possibility of hooking into bigger pike.

In answer to your question, ''There is nothing to prevent a big pike taking your lure'', in fact, many would welcome the chance.

My suggestion would be, decide what size of lure you fancy throwing and then base your ''rod'' selection on the weight of those lures. There are now available a wide selection of lure rod's in varying casting weights, so you should have no difficulty in meeting your requirements.

But first, make sure you have done your homework on unhooking, and the equipment needed. Only then can you enjoy this branch of the sport to the maximum, hope this helps.

P

pointngo

getting a rod for both perch and pike will see you compromising on both. They have different mouth structures that need a softer tip rod, for perch, and a stiffer (faster) rod for pike. That doesn't mean you can't get a rod that will do for both, but it won't be great for either. It'll get you started though.