Drop shotting, Jigging and wire traces....

arthur2sheds

Reaction score
I recently read of an angler getting bitten off while lure fishing for Perch and Zander... He was using a jighead on a clip tied direct to fluorocarbon...
Do you chaps use a trace, or do you fish the same way....? I'm having fears of leaving hooks in fish and although I crush my barbs as a matter of course I wouldn't want to leave a jighead in a fish...

I'm wondering if this was a one off..... Or am I just worrying too much....?

smudger172

Reaction score
I have been fishing at Grafham for the last six years throughout the predator season and the majority of the anglers are using fluorocarbon hook links. Some of these are very well known names. There argument is that when using wire it is to noisy and they do not get bitten of that often. In my opinion once if too many. I have been using coated wire and still catch my fair share.

flightliner

Reaction score
A trace,better safe than sorry.Just my opinion but I reckon when a predator is up for a meal a trace wont put off its stiking.

naxian62

Reaction score
I think it should be a matter of course.
ALWAYS use a trace when old esox is lurking.
Using Drennan Soft Strand atm, very soft and supple, although a jack will more than likely f*** up the trace!
Never understood the problem of catching one or two pike whilst targeting another species, aren't all fish welcome ?

greenie62

Reaction score
How do you know if there are not pike present.................

A local day-ticket water I fish has no pike - plenty of perch - the owner has never put any pike in, nor have anyone else, never seen any - e.g. when bringing in silver fish or dropshotting for perch, unlike other local waters!
Not even any rumours of a pike in there! :eek:

alsoran

Reaction score
You get to know which of your local waters are pike free tbh. But, if in doubt use a trace.

arthur2sheds

Reaction score