nichalex

Reaction score
Hi guys, I am new to this forum as you can see. I am also new to predator fishing. I started 5 weeks ago; when in 10 mins, I caught a pike on a frog lure from the surface. I was so pleased, I have been fishing almost every week. But In the last trips, I haven't caught anything. Have you got any tips ?

Last edited:

john step

Reaction score
Welcome to FM. Can't advise on lure fishing as I am hopeless. I stick to sink and draw dead uns. There are others on here who are very proficient.

nichalex

Reaction score
I guessed that but, it's about confident isn't it. But I am going to have to break the habit. My favourite spot it very weedy, even weedless lures don't work. About that, how much time and casts should I do in a certain spot ?

nichalex

Reaction score
Ok, I understand it is a bit of a tall order to just ask advice when you don't know how I fish. I didn't want to post it here but here's a video of the sections I made : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mh5duK6xcJ8&index=2&list=WL
Do you see anything wrong ? As you see, I use a frog lure but I don't "walk the dog", as the americans do, I don't understand how it is done. Can you guys explain...

fins

Reaction score
Hi, I fish the same lure, how I often fish it is by quick downward jerks of the rod tip, the frog then does a sort of down and up motion in the water and the rubber legs go straight and then bend just like a frog swimming.
I usually start by trying to match the speed of a real frog when retrieving, I will often make stops and then small twitches, with quicker burst in open water. If that doesn't work I will just mix it up and try anything. eg. Just quickly retrieving at a steady pace or waggling the rod tip randomly.

nichalex

Reaction score
Thanks Peter, and great quote.

And thanks fin for the advice. I love frog lures; on top of the two I already own, I've ordered 5 more in a larger range of colours and also a surface mouse lure !