Pike at bait

ranger1

Reaction score
Hi all

Just had a very frustrating a day yesterday on a local river.. basically I was using delkims and my mate was using basically using a billy backbiter, I'm not experienced river wise but the pike where pulling the line but weren't Triggering on my delkims I could see the rod moving but no indication even on my mates alarm the were pulling and letting go and pulling for until finally they trigger the alarm and this happened 4 time son different sections each time we striked into the fish we'd have them on but lose them in a minute or two..
Also all the deadbaits were on the bottom we didn't have any popers, it may sound like I'm crazy but the the pike were pulling the like and you could see the end of your rod bending and then going back normal and bending until finally the pike takes lines very strange?

Any ideas never happened to me before.. :confused:

Last edited:

Philip

Reaction score
Sure they where Pike taking the bait ?

john step

Reaction score
When the water is very cold they can sit with the bait in the mouth without taking it for some time. I think they can nudge it to produce those knocks on the rod top if they have been pressured or just not hungry.
A float set up if practical might give better indication as to whats going on as a tight line from the lead to the indicator might be putting them off?

Not always practical on a river I know.

ranger1

Reaction score
Cheers all.

Was very strange alright 100% pike because every time we striked into the fish just as the pike was near to landing bang the hooks would go.. what would you do about this as in should we leave it longer before striking ? Also when they did take the bait it was very aggressive one of the bites nearly took the rod from the rod pod! My friend had a pb 19lb that day too.
My friend was fishing with a float setup only one lost fish on it.

Any more ideas ?

thecrow

Reaction score
should we leave it longer before striking