Homemade Jerk Bait

wa1115

Reaction score
Not posted for a while due to work commitments and a lack of fishing opportunities, but I have decided to give making wooden jerk bait's a go, so this is my first attempt.
I sourced some tulip wood for my lures as its soft enough to work with, I have never done any kind of woodwork before and had no tools, so I was given some from my grandma out of my granddad's shed as he recently passed and they wasn't getting used (Thanks Grandad!)
IMG_20170212_214254_hdr_zpsilg63sns.jpg~original

First I found some plans off of the interweb printed them off and got to work making some blanks.
I decided on some lead for weight and drilled the holes shoved it in and then coved the holes with wood filler and sanded down. I have used screw eyes from Lure Factors and used epoxy to seal them in tight.
IMG_20170217_161155_hdr_zpsibbtrukn.jpg~original

I have ordered some Createx airbrush paint as I have also been given a setup for airbrushing but as the Createx isn't due until Wednesday I used a good old spray cans for the paint on this one.
RIMG1438_zpsxjhiqhqr.jpg~original

Thinking outside the box as I only had white and grey I decided on a novel approach for a bit of colour, finished off with a couple of layers of epoxy to harden it off and give a shine I present the 'Pike Avenger' 40g Jerk Bait
RIMG1441_zps9jcjquai.jpg~original

RIMG1446_zpsrc1wveny.jpg~original

RIMG1451_zpsacmazeho.jpg~original

RIMG1453_zpswfqswptl.jpg~original

I have just primed 4 more ready for the Arrival of my airbrush paint on Wednesday, will put some pics up (probably weekend) when completed.

terry m

Reaction score
They look very impressive, I like the subdued colours.

Will be interesting to understand the action once they are fully kitted with hooks and split rings.

wa1115

Reaction score