Centerpin Question

lakhyaman

Reaction score
I have just acquired the following:

001_zpsdf1phzgt.jpg

002_zpswhp624ft.jpg

004_zpszmwfsyhv.jpg

006_zpsaa6b97th.jpg

I have never used a centerpin before. My research shows there are many other makes much preferred by the cognoscenti. My reason for choosing this one was that it has a disc drag which can be switched on and off. The tension can be adjusted by a star lever inside the frame.

Now, why a drag on the centerpin? I often use a large arbor wide spool fly reel loaded with monofilament to float fish for carp and other specimen fish in the margins. This gives me the advantage of a smooth adjustable drag and rim control when playing a fish.

This centerpin seemed to offer the same facilities while allowing a return to the pure centerpin function. Not having used a centerpin before I thought that if I never learn how to use one for trotting at least it will serve for my style of margin fishing. You can switch on the drag function even when playing a fish on the pure centerpin!

My question is that do I have to load it with backing before putting on the main line and can this be any old braid (20lb braid) or does it have to be the stuff sold as backing for fly reels?

Also the box indicates " 275 yards of 8 line" - is this 8 lb bs line or is that a separate specification? In that case, how thick is No. 8 line?

Thanks for your help and would appreciate any other comments on the reel and pointers and tips on its use.

All the best

Lakhyaman

peter crabtree

AKA Simon, 1953 - 2022 (RIP)
Reaction score
8lb line is approx 0.18mm. Use whatever line you think you need. Personally I only spool as much line as I am going to need. Put too much line on and it will bed in after your first fish.

tigger

Banned
Banned
Reaction score