FishingMagic Forums


Register Forums Blogs Classifieds FAQ Calendar Arcade Search Mark Forums Read




Home » Reels » Centre-Pin

 
Ron Thompson Okuma Aventa Pro
Reviews Views Date of last review
14 1977 Tue November 13, 2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.4












Description: Centrepin ball-race reel
Keywords: Ron Thompson Okuma Aventa Pro
Administrator
 
Posts: 275,951
Registered: February 2009



Author
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Tue August 24, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It's smooth running, free-spinning (but not too much), athestically pleasing, quality reel.4.5"" dia, 3/4"" wide spool with 2 ball-bearing and a check mechanism.
Cons: None that I have found - except that at the moment they are quite hard to get hold of.

An affordable quality reel For the money this is a great reel and a delight to fish with.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Sun November 21, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very well engineered. I agree with Clive. Excellent for newcomers to this type of device.
Cons: Search me!

More fun than anything else! Very good value for money, and it makes a few heads turn on the banks! One kid called me "Grandad" and I'm only 39! He stopped laughing when the fish started coming in.....
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Sun November 21, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Well engineered,has made my river fishing trips more productive and much more fun
Cons: none

My favorite piece of tackle excellent value ,great to use ,I've used mine for trotting, margin fishing and even ledgering
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Mon December 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: This cnetrepin is as good as any more expensive ones.Even a small float will pull line from the reel in a slow current.Nicely made.
Cons: No line guard

Great for the money A nice reel to fish with, a bargain.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Thu May 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: smooth engineering,5 yr. warranty in simple terms , does the job.
Cons: none yet identified

Excellent at the price I mostly use a centre pin for margin fishing in ponds for all species ,plus river trotting. I cannot recommend enough the use of a Pin for all this --- it is almost unfair to the fish as your control with light tackle is almost infinite
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Les Paul
New Member

Registered: July 2005
Review Date: Fri January 13, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Brilliant engineeringVery free runningSpins for 3 minutes and moreUnder
Cons: No line guardNo drag system

Superb and excellent quality I am a lifetime user of Youngs Purist reels a 2030 and a 2042 which I love but then this came along!If you do not need a line guard or drag ( and most do not including me ) then this reel is simply unbeatable. Its performance is quite stunning and its e
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Mon February 20, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I have yet to use it on a river, but use it on still waters.Great fun playing fish. You can feel every twist, turn etc. The drag controlled by your thumb, feels so natural. You dont have to think, everything seems to come naturally. What a feeling, havi
Cons: The ratchet (which works fine) has a twist knob, which in the heat of the moment is a bit fiddly, as I forget which way to turn it! A simple switch would have done it better.

A beautiful work of art! An absolute pleasure to look at and use. It encourages you to take greater care. Ilove it to bits, and try to use it at every oppertunity.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Sun March 12, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: the very long time of free spinning
Cons: non

Superb it's a joy to use on the river trot a crust in searchfor ide and chub or stalking for carp in still water
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Mon April 10, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well made smooth running classy looking.My thumb drops onto the rim perfectly making it so comfortable to cast and play fish makes you feel in control
Cons: None

I love using this reel Excellent present from my wife. I use it whenever possible and practible. I prefer it to the Leeds centrepin the spool of which I find a bit too wide for my stumpy fingers
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Fri April 14, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Attractive, perfectly engineered spins for 2-3 mins. No line twist at last! A joy to use.
Cons: ratchet switch on the back, no line guard

Absolutely superb for the money Doubt you can buy a better centre pin for under
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Sat May 27, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Being a newcomer to centrepins , i bought this reel on reccommendations from FM bods. Beautiful looking reel , spins forever and feels comfortable in the hand . The drum is perfectly positioned for thumb control and the handles are set so that you don't g
Cons: Line control due to the lack of a line guard was a problem to begin with but i think that was down to my inexperience as much as anything

A perfect reel It comes with a neoprene reel bag which helps protect the reel during transit. The control this reel gives over a bigger fish is awesome . Most of my fishing is done close in to the margins for tench and carp and this is now the first reel out of my tackl
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Thu August 3, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, very free running, good for wallis casting, quiet ratchet, very well engineered, easily comparable with 'pins costing twice as much.
Cons: The 'open' construction does allow grit, groundbait and maize meal from your maggots to work its way into the nooks and crannies. Not a problem if like me, you believe in cleaning your reel after trip, but for those who leave their gear in the bag until

Excellent value I've used this for trotting, legering, under the rod top float work on still waters and its a great reel.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Tue October 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Smooth running non-flash finish, nicely engineered.
Cons: Non I have identified so far although I think a lever ratched on off might be easier to apply/remove especially with a fish on.

Super reel i'm now a cp convert This is my first centrepin and it has been a joy to use.I am now a converted spin-aholic!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishingMagic
Administrator

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 275951
Review Date: Tue November 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very free running, light and easy to use.
Cons: Sometimes the line traps between the spool and the backplate.

Great reel I'm a real fan of the center pin, its my first choice reel for stick float fishing. I use it with a Shimano Hyperloop 390 FA rod on my local river. Excellent combination.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost 4.1 vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.










Loading



All times are GMT. The time now is 16:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2002-2014 Fish&Fly Ltd