the ultimate tip

Neil Maidment

Reaction score
Location, location, location!

I'm no barbel expert, but I do know, "find them, then fish for them".

Steve Pope

Reaction score
Be sure there are barbel in or near your swim, in other words location.

And join the Barbel Society, there you will get many more tips on how to catch them now you know they are there!

All the very best,

Steve.

preston96

Reaction score
Fish in extra water....warmer than what was in the river prior to it coming!

quickcedo

Reaction score
Take the minimum amount of gear. (that way you'll be more inclined to move) and move again!

colin jones

Reaction score
Be sure there are barbel in or near your swim, in other words location.

And join the Barbel Society, there you will get many more tips on how to catch them now you know they are there!

All the very best,

Steve.

Steve,am i right in thinking that you are the head of the bs?

Steve Pope

Reaction score
Hi Colin,

I'm Chairman and was instrumental in setting up the organisation.

Pete Reading is Secretary and we have an excellent management team and membership.

I don't regard myself as the head, just part of the team.

All the best,

Steve.

Gav Barbus

Reaction score
Make sure you engage bait runner or have clutch set,so you dont lose your rod on impact.
Enjoy the river more than anything.

richiekelly

Reaction score
the best tip that i can give you when fishing for barbel (or anything else) is not to fish the swims that i have been fishing as i have been doing c**p

barbel basher

Reaction score