The Royalty Fishery

chris k

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I'm new to barbel fishing and I've decided to give it a go. My to nearest waters are the Royalty and Itchen. I plan to fish the royalty this saturday, however ive been told it gets busy
at the weekend. What I want to know is it too busy to even bother at the weekend ??? I looked at the free section of the itchen but seems to be a lot of public walking around, which I dont fancy as I will be by myself.

Thanks in advance.

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
There is nothing wrong with the free stretch of the Itchen below Gator's Mill, even with members of the public around it is still perfectly safe to fish there alone.

I think some decent Barbel have come out of that venue as well in the last year or two.

As for the Royalty I always find it best to fish there mid week to avoid the crowds and I never fish there during school holiday periods either.

graham472

Reaction score
Be at Davis tackle before it opens at 7.30am to avoid the rush.Does get busy at this time of year due to traditional holiday weeks.You could allways think about Throop fishery.Not that far from the Royalty and much more river to fish.Tickets from Davis tackle or Christchurch tackle.

Judas Priest

Reaction score
Throop has a bigger diversity of available water and much more to go at. Tickets as has already been posted.
In this weather I would park at School House and walk downstream right hand bank. There's some lovely swims down there although a bit of a walk.

Chris Hammond ( RSPB ACA PAC}

Reaction score
Throop has a bigger diversity of available water and much more to go at. Tickets as has already been posted.
In this weather I would park at School House and walk downstream right hand bank. There's some lovely swims down there although a bit of a walk.