Rod Tip

chris k

Reaction score
I went fishing for Barbel the other day and I am still pretty new to it all. The flow was gentle in most places, I cast in with a 1.5oz lead which seemed to hold the bottom, but my 1.75tc barbel rod didn't really take on a slight curve, could this be because I was using too heavy a lead?

Also now and again I was getting really fast small twitches that I couldn't strike into, where these just line bites?

cal_sutt

Reaction score
There's not much I can say about whether or not you are using too heavy a lead, trial and error is probably all you can do to figure out whats right. However, the fast knock situation has happened to me before. It's usually where my line is too tight to the lead and when a chub or barbel goes for the bait, it feels the resistance and spooks. How long is your hooklength? Maybe try a longer hooklength or try and fish with your line slightly slack and leave at least 6 inches of space for the lead to run freely. This is about all I can come up with and I think it should help.

Cal.

thecrow

Reaction score
The curve in a rod that happens when fishing a river is caused by the flow on the reel line it doesn't matter what size lead is being used, in the case you mention it would seem that the flow wasn't enough to put a bend in the rod, I am intrigued as to why this bothers you.

The fast "bites" you mention could be a multitude of things, they may not be bites at all, only experience will tell you.

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
I would tend to agree with The Crow on this one, and as you say there was only a gentle flow so not too much pressure on your main line, so therefore not much of a "bow" which helps to put the curve on the rod tip.

In which plane was your rod?

Was it positioned low down or high up to keep as much line as possible out of the water?

greenie62

Reaction score