River severn fishing near woolaston/chepstow

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm taking my 2 boys away and was hoping to do some barbel fishing. I've never done it before and was wondering if they habitat that part of the river. Also any tips on bait/rigs etc would be greatly appreciated as we are very inexperienced and have only been carp fishing for a couple of years. Cheers ?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Reaction score
Looking at where you are going,you'd be better off fishing for thornback rayson the Severn,the Wye is a better bet but fishing is limited and relatively expensive,look on the 'Wye and Usk foundation' website. Alan

thecrow

Reaction score
To be honest Anthony the lower Severn is not a place to begin fishing for Barbel and the parts you mention are really the lower lower Severn.

I wouldn't say that there are no Barbel that far down but I would say it wont be easy fishing for them, all I can suggest is that if you are willing to travel you could have a look at stretches of the Wye within a reasonable distance.

Sorry not to be able to help you further.

Reaction score
Cheers fellas. I don't mind travelling a bit?

Neil Maidment

Reaction score
I have no real knowledge of that part of the Severn other than it's massive and hugely tidal. Can't imagine too much barbel fishing going on that far down the river. If there is, then I suggest it's only for the hardened, very experienced angler who knows exactly what challenges that style of fishing entails.

Far better to have a look at the Wye between Monmouth and Ross, 10 to 20 miles from Woolaston, where there's plenty of barbel fishing available, some of which is guided.

Reaction score
I have no real knowledge of that part of the Severn other than it's massive and hugely tidal. Can't imagine too much barbel fishing going on that far down the river. If there is, then I suggest it's only for the hardened, very experienced angler who knows exactly what challenges that style of fishing entails.