Has barbel tackle gone to far?

mickb

Reaction score
Hi all and good luck for the new season.
I've been fishing for barbel for the last 20 years or so with no interest in any other species. In the last 20 years I've seen big differences in barbel fishing but no real difference in the size of barbel I'm catching. Back in the mid 90s I was catching 8 or 9lbs with the same regularity as I am these days. Back then I was watching dave harrel videos and either the specimen approach for barbel wasn't around or I wasn't aware of it. I used casters and hemp with a big feeder rod and 6lb line straight through to a size 12 drennan super spade. Not once did a barbel break my line but I must admit that I daren't put too much pressure on them. I landed them no problem but must admit they were tired out when I got them in and needed time to recover which they did in a few minutes. Like I said I was unaware back then. I went through the process as we all have using higher breaking strain lines and specific design barbel rods. My line strength went up to 8 then 10 then 12lb. Because of the thicker diameter line there was more drag on the line from the river current (I fish a powerful river ribble) therefore more weight to hold bottom had to be used even with a bow in the line and the rod tip held high. Of course the higher weights then needed a more powerful rod to cast them out. Back in the 90s with 6lb line I could hold bottom with 30 gram black cap feeder. I really got carried away. Using 12lb big game with a diameter approx 0.35mm needed 3 oz or so to hold bottom and I went out and bought a top of the range daiwa infinity 2.25lb test curve rod. Not cheap. Great rod. Even light enough to touch ledger if I wanted to (not that it's needed but it's fun). All of a sudden it occurred to me. I had a near double figure barbel on and I was just winching it in. The barbel had no chance and the fight felt awful. This seems to be the norm now on big rivers. I thought back to the 90s and th