Leads or feeders ?

associatedmatt

Reaction score
As I'm a barbel novice and going to have a few trips on the Severn before end of the year I'm unsure where to take leads or feeders or both as I see lead approach you can hook pva bag with meat or pellets in .

Don't want to take loads of kit with me due to travel light to carry it all easily . Before you know it with leads upto 4oz and same with feeders your carrying a fair bit of extra weight .

Any advice on this As I see pva bags similar to feeders except you can put out more bait.

Cheers

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

tigger

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I usually use leads myself. I don't usually bother with ground bait either and catapult heavy pellets into my chosen area then just fish over the top with my own pellet/bait. Halibut pellets give off plenty scent as they are without messing about with all kinds of bits.

associatedmatt

Reaction score
I usually use leads myself. I don't usually bother with ground bait either and catapult heavy pellets into my chosen area then just fish over the top with my own pellet/bait. Halibut pellets give off plenty scent as they are without messing about with all kinds of bits.
Thanks , I have got a mix of pellets 6 and 8mm in hinders little gemz and some large elips. But have got 8 and 14 for on the hair and take a few tins of meat .

To be honest I don't use groubdbait much only when when using a cage feeder for tench .

When using meat what sort of size lump of meat ? 2 " cube ?

tigger

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Thanks , I have got a mix of pellets 6 and 8mm in hinders little gemz and some large elips. But have got 8 and 14 for on the hair and take a few tins of meat .

To be honest I don't use groubdbait much only when when using a cage feeder for tench .

When using meat what sort of size lump of meat ? 2 " cube ?