Newbie advice

Martin Greenall

Reaction score
Hi all.. I'm totally new to fishinng and looking to by some basics on a budget (well the wife and kids will be for my birthday) Have been looking a float rod kids and like the look of Matt Hayes Delux course fishing kit for £35 from go out doors in wakefield.. Can anyone recomened this bit of kit or have they bought it them selves for just starting out..

Love the forum, you guys are the egg heads of fishing..

Martin

NIGE K

Reaction score
if you find a decent tackle shop and ask for adviceyou should be able to get a 13ft float rod and a cheap shimano reel plus a landing net and handle and basic tackle to get you going for around a hundred pound.if you buy really cheap stuffyou will end up needing to replace it sooner rather than later.

Tony Hart

Reaction score
Check out, Tackle2U they have a branch at Outwood, nr Wakefield, look at the Rod and Reel Combos, they will also give you any advise you need. /forum/smilies/smile_smiley.gif

Martin Greenall

Reaction score
Cheers Tony, I will and there not far from me either.. Not looking to get much to start with. Going to gradually build up as I go along and start with the basics..

Tony Hart

Reaction score
Martin, will be having a clearout of my tackle over the weekend, may have a few items for you, message me on sunday,will let you know. /forum/smilies/smile_smiley.gif Iam from Leeds so i coulddrop them in or you could collect.

trev (100M bronze)

Reaction score
welcome to the site Martin. Whatever kit you end up with, just make sure you get out and use it. Theres nothing worse than having kit in the shed or garage and not using it. A present from the family is better being used than not.

Think of it as a ticket to your own little bit of freedom.

Martin Greenall

Reaction score
That would be great Tony.. Many thanks.. I live in Tingley and would be happy to come collect if you do happen to have any spare bits.. /forum/smilies/big_smile_smiley.gif

M

MarkTheSpark