BEGINNER HERE PLEASE HELP!!!

Ashley Barnes

Reaction score
I HAVE NOT BEEN FISHING SINCE I WAS ABOUT SIX YEARS OLD AND I WANT TO TAKE UP FISHING AS A HOBBY. CAN ANYBODY ADVISE ME ON HOW TO GET GEARED UP. I WOULD LIKE TO TRY POLE FISHING AS MORE PEOPLE SEEM TO BE USING THEM THESE DAYS FOR SMALL FISH AS-WELL AS BONUS FISH SUCH AS CARP AND TENCH. I DONT WANT TO BREAK THE BANK BUT I WANT A POLE THAT WILL LAST FOR A LONG TIME AND CAN BE USED FOR SMALL AND BIG FISH. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THE DIAWA RANGE ARE GOOD POLES AND WILL LAST YOU FOR A LIFE-TIME BUT I HAVE ALSO BEEN TOLD THAT SHIMANO ARE THE BEST MONEY CAN BUY.PLEASE HELP! THANK YOU!

R

Rasmus Keis

Hello Ashley

2 important things:

You wont find a pole that are equally good at fishing for both small and big fish. Allround poles will always be a compromise. But if you will be fishing for the bigger specimens buy a strong pole, that can also be used for smaller fish, although its pretty heavy to handle.

Shimano, Daiwa all makes very good poles. The best advice is to try it out for yourself. NEVER buy a pole unless you have tryed holding it in its full lenght. Forget about the weight - the important thing is balance, and what I prefer you may hate. So try out at least 2-3 poles in your pricerange at your dealer before bying anything.

good luck, Rasmus, Denmark

R

Rodney Wrestt

Hi Ashley,