Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: surface fishing

hi there some help for carp surface fishing which i have just started to have a go at should i use my carp rod with 2and half test curve or could i use a shorter rod like a spinning rod or boat rod and if so any paticular weight or line type to use or combination.
    just a note i am a novice at fishing only started last year as i had to give up the old spoil a good walk sport.
    any help would be appriciated.

Cakey Guest

I use a 2.5 harrison blank

Wolfman Woody Guest

I use a 1Żlb Sportex blank.

Funny how they make spod and marker rods, but not many make a specific floater rod.

jason fisher Guest

woohoo one less golfer the worlds already a better place.

personally i just use the softest rod i happen to have with me.

thanks for the posts so far as jason fisher's post definately true trying to convert a few of the golfing buddies to fishing.
    still have clubs and trolly thinking of turning them into a cart to carry fishing gear.

Wolfman Woody Guest

Flog 'em on eBay and buy a carp barra'.

i have spoken to one of the drivers who deliver's to our works today and he told me he uses this setup.
    7'Boat fishing rod & Krystonite Super Mono 12lb with a fox bubble controller and it works well for him.
    think will give it a try.
    will let you know how it work's out for me.

Fox and Wychwood to surface rods I think they are about 2 1/2 lb. Personaly i use a 1 1/2 lb unless at range.

I wouldnt like to use anything under 12' because i want to pick up the floating line fast to get a positive strike.

I use a small mitchell reel for floater and stalking. with 8lb line which i spray with leeda fly line floatant.