surface fishing

carl hodgkinson

Reaction score
hi there some help for carp surface fishing which i have just started to have a go at should i use my carp rod with 2and half test curve or could i use a shorter rod like a spinning rod or boat rod and if so any paticular weight or line type to use or combination.
just a note i am a novice at fishing only started last year as i had to give up the old spoil a good walk sport.
any help would be appriciated.

W

Wolfman Woody

I use a 1?lb Sportex blank.

Funny how they make spod and marker rods, but not many make a specific floater rod.

J

jason fisher

woohoo one less golfer the worlds already a better place.

personally i just use the softest rod i happen to have with me.

carl hodgkinson

Reaction score
thanks for the posts so far as jason fisher's post definately true trying to convert a few of the golfing buddies to fishing.
still have clubs and trolly thinking of turning them into a cart to carry fishing gear.

carl hodgkinson

Reaction score
i have spoken to one of the drivers who deliver's to our works today and he told me he uses this setup.
7'Boat fishing rod & Krystonite Super Mono 12lb with a fox bubble controller and it works well for him.
think will give it a try.
will let you know how it work's out for me.

Benny The Bream

Reaction score
Fox and Wychwood to surface rods I think they are about 2 1/2 lb. Personaly i use a 1 1/2 lb unless at range.

I wouldnt like to use anything under 12' because i want to pick up the floating line fast to get a positive strike.

I use a small mitchell reel for floater and stalking. with 8lb line which i spray with leeda fly line floatant.

I use a simple controller float set up with enterprise tackles dog mixer on the hook it has a small recess to slip in a split shot i then hook it through the top. The shot makes sure the hook is out of the water and the carp cant see it as it approaches from underneath.

Hope that helps good luck.

carl hodgkinson

Reaction score