carp beginner

nathan92

Reaction score
im new to carp fishing and after a few trips im yet to catch a carp.
i know bits and bobs but this thread is mainly for advice on tackle as i will be going to a tackle shop tomorow to buy a few things.

currently im using a bolt rig with lead safety clips.
my first question is about line, i hear alot about braid and flurocarbone. but which is best for the hook length?? and what are the advantages of each line??

my next question may sound stupid but after casting do you sink the line and leave it slack or do you tighten it?? do the fish run into the line if its tight?? i was thinking about getting a lead core leader??

theres probably more but thats all i can think of atm.

any help would be greatly appreciated... thenks.

Lord Paul of Sheffield

Reaction score
well i'm no carp angler but I'd ask where are you fishing?

If it's a big. sparesly stock carp water then I'd say try somewhere else till you get a few carp in the net

as to your question

Slack lines seems to be the latest advice i nthe carp mags (was was a year back when I last read one)
Hook lenght material

depends on your presentaion , popped up or on the bottom

Noknot is probably a good person to ask - come on Noknot - give him a few pinters

nathan92

Reaction score
i have been fishing a local pond which isnt huge but ok witha gravel pit i beleive, with carp upto 30lbs pluss and also roach, perch and skimmers (of what i no)

another pond i will be fishing (probably more) is a bit smaller than the other with a mud bottom and carp upto 15lbs pluss. theres also bream tench roach perch etc in.

i tend to fish on the bottom but have pop-ups aswell.

thanks for the reply.:thumbs:

Lord Paul of Sheffield

Reaction score
the theory on slack lines is that if the line it tight and the fish touches it it will spook - so fish slack lines (advice from carp mag not from me)

as for hook length