What Boilie for winter?

Jeff

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a novice carper whose experience is limited to a local day ticket water during the summer. I feel I did well taking a fare-few fish to 16lb+ on 14mm Halibut pellet fished on the method, cast out every 30 mins or so building up a good bait patch.

Now, after way to much work, I am finally looking to get out again but understand that my previous summer pellet baits and tactics won't be effective in these colder temperatures???

Am I right in understanding that the low water temp's seriously restrict the leakage of the oils and scent from the pellets?

I have also heard that Carp don't feed anywhere near as much in winter and that I will therefore only need to offer just a few freebies upon every cast?

Tactics-wise I assume I should not use the method feeder and just employ a simple running ledger rig???

Lastly, Could you please recommend a few boilie types/flavours to go for, I understand that good old Tutti-frutti works well in winter???

Thanks for your help in advance!

Jeff

D

Dal (The merchant of Mennace & Don't mess with my

Hello Jeff, I've been told to use a fish based boilie in the summer and a fruity type in the winter and it has worked for me. Tutti-Frutti is probably the 'classic'. I fish one rod in one spot static and my second rod as a roving rod re-casting every 1/2 hour or so. I wouldn't use the method at this time of year, just single hook baits may be with higher attraction levels than normal. Personally I allways use a semi-fixed (safety) rig.
Lastly mate, these are my personal styles for my lake, all lakes are different and I'm sure that fellas like Big Rik, Cakey etc will be able to help more than me. Good luck.

Jeff

Reaction score
Cheers Dal, That's a few good pointers there for starters, especially about the fruity baits being best in winter. I also use the semi-fixed safety rigs with some of that tube up the line above the lead.