Any tips on Spodding?

PTnymph

Reaction score
Does any one have any tips for me on how to some spoding as I am trying a new carp water near me.

Trisantona

Reaction score
Yeah,you need a spod rod, a spod ,and some bait..p.s.don't post on april 1st.tight lines.

PTnymph

Reaction score
What sort of an answer is that? I am not taking the mickey here as it maybe April the 1st but this is an geniune question as I have never done any spodding before!

captain carrott

Reaction score
best to put a marker out to aim at when you do it. clip up to keep it going the same distance, try to feather it in or follow it down with the rod tip.

use a spod with holes in for boilies. and a full sided one for particles.
hope that helps

PTnymph

Reaction score
Thanks Dave you're a star at least a better answer than Trisantona!

Trisantona

Reaction score
I don't think my post was offensive or giving mis-information,unlike some of the posts i have seen on here by so called experts,anyway a few tips..spodding a load of bait at this time of year could be the kiss of death unless you are fishing for tame carp on a commercial,also it only usually works over a two or more day session.tight lines.

T

The Monk

I think the problem was Andrew, because Budgie is your brother and a very experienced angler many of us presumed yours was an April fool post mate!

Trisantona

Reaction score
Matter of oppinion Frothey,depends on how stupid the carp are in any given water,i could take you to a place where the fish follow bait boats and grab the bait before it hits bottom,then there's those bloody groundbait floats,catch loads of fish on commercials,some of which have reached decent sizes on all the bait that's chucked at em ,but for some of us oldies who have been in the game forty odd years it just don't seem right somehow.

Trisantona

Reaction score
Oh BTW frothey ,i wasn't referring to you in any way,your article was excellant.

F

Frothey

Didnt think that Grant ;)