Tight /Slack lines

chris k

Reaction score
Can someone explain why/when to fish tight or slack lines. I'm new to Carp fishing and I hear people talk about this alot.
Regards Chris

barbelboi

Reaction score
Much can depend on conditions and/or the venue topography, also how pressurized the water is. Wherever possible I would generally fish a slack line and pin everything to the bottom if the contours allow.

chris k

Reaction score
Thanks for your reply, So literally once cast out, don't bother tightening the line between the lead and rod tip.

barbelboi

Reaction score
The use of back leads, flying back leads, rig putty, etc., as appropriate to the contours of the bottom will all help to keep everything 'pinned' down. Also THIS might be of some help...

---------- Post added at 14:37 ---------- Previous post was at 14:33 ----------

Chris this ( award winning ) thread might help , though I really only fish commercials only the odd specimen type pool

http://www.fishingmagic.com/forums/general-fishing/337037-tight-slack.html

That appears to be for using the ' method' Benny...................

alsoran

Reaction score
Thanks for your reply, So literally once cast out, don't bother tightening the line between the lead and rod tip.

NO!!!

You still need to set it up and be in control of your line. Just left to chance is asking for trouble. Gently tighten up to your lead, then with the rod in the rests release some line until everything goes slack. tbh at over 50/60 yrds the last couple of feet will be on the bottom anyway. Fishing too slack can really ruin any bite indication though, the longer the distance the worse the indication. Also undertow can cause problems.

arthur2sheds

Reaction score
This is always a bit of a thorny subject.... it all depends on your outlook, experience and more often than not personal preference....