Homemade boilie basemix advice

Reaction score
Hi

I'm an absolute beginner to the bait making game having been a stickfloat, centrepin, hemp & caster devotee.
I'm not interested in carp (so no threat to anyone on here), but have started taking a more specimen orientated approach and using baits and tactics to try to catch bigger fish.
I've just bought a 8mm Gardner rolling table and am having a go at rolling my own particle boilies.

Could anyone advise what you think re my birdfood base mix below please. I'll be fishing short session on a small river to target chub, barbel, bream and roach this winter:

250g semolina
250g soya flour
250g partiblend (ground)
50g crushed hemp
300g milk powder
1 tsp salt

*Liquid 1
4-5 eggs
50 ml evaporated milk
50 ml liquidised sweetcorn
20ml pineapple flavouring (natural)
5ml blueberry flavouring
4 drops clove E.O.
6 drops coriander E.O.
6 drops aniseed E.O.

*Liquid 2
4-5 eggs
50ml liquid liver
50ml evaporated milk
2ml frankfurter flavouring
8 drops black pepper E.O.
6 drops chilli oleoresin

Many thanks in advance.

Steve

flightliner

Reaction score
SOS, your first recipe is similar to one that I used to make back in the eighties but without the crushed hemp ( not saying it's not beneficial, I just didn't include it )
What was a popular with many carpers at the time however was to include a quarter teaspoonful MSG ( monosodium glutamate ) -- a flavour enhancer. ( try a bit on your tongue and you will taste the last thing you had to eat ).

peterjg

Reaction score
You haven't said how long you are going to boil them for but I suggest that you add another binder such as wheat gluten or they might break down too quickly - especially as they are only 8mm. Good luck, it's always so much more interesting to make your own baits.

PS. You could also include a bit of farina (potato starch).

Roto Fryer

Reaction score
have a look at cc moores website they will have a few recipes on there that are a bit better than what you suggest :)