All rounder rod

Arry innes

Reaction score
Hello all.im fairly new to this carp fishing lark..I fish smallish lakes with the biggest fish being around 15 I reckon....I wanna get into pellet waggling....would a waggler rod handle a 15lber? All vids on YouTube seem to be small carp.i was thinking of a pellet waggler rod.6lb main.down to 4lb flurocarbon???? Would this be too light for bigger fish? Any help greatly appreciated

sam vimes

Reaction score
Pick a rod based on the method you intend to use and the size of the average fish you might catch, rather than the biggest fish you might possibly catch. Landing a fifteen pound fish on the average pellet waggler rod won't necessarily be easy, but the rod is quite unlikely to be the limiting factor.

nottskev

Reaction score
I only occasionally fish like this, but I'm really pleased with the rod I bought for it - a Shakespeare Agility 2 Pellet Waggler. Excellent value, imo, for not much more thn £50. It's a float rod; it's more suited to the run of the mill fish, which are mostly well below double figures, but will land much bigger ones, with a bit of patience and care. But I'll go a bit heavier than 4lb; you don't want to be playing them all day or risking a breakage with the bigger ones you hook.

Arry innes

Reaction score
Thanks both of you.yea I see you're point on aiming to the fish on average....may I ask nottskev....what's your line and hooklength you use? And yes I was looking at a Shakespeare.

Arry innes

Reaction score
Thanks both of you...yes I see what you're saying at aiming towards the average size I'm likely to catch......nottskev may I ask what line breaking strain setup you use??? For float and method feeder style fishing

Philip

Reaction score