Fishing Around Peterborough

Lee Jordan

Reaction score
Hi all,

i've just got back into fishing this summer, and boy am i Enjoying it. although i've only been fishing at ferry meadows. i've not been for five weeks though because of holidays (keeping the wife off my back) paving the way for winter fishing. anyway back to the question in hand does anyone know of any maps that highlight places to fish around the area. i know the obvious stretches of the nene but the backwater places and things are what i'm after. one of my work colleagues has just returned to the sport too so were lookin to fish a few different venues. any info would be appreciated.
a map would be ideal. and were quite willing to travel around.
Thanks in advance...!
Lee

Lee Jordan

Reaction score
to be honest i'm happy so long as i'm catching. But i was targeting the Bream in the Summer and netted each time i went but only to the size of 4.5lb which became my pb. but i'm just starting out again so it's all about learning. i would like to start marking of the different species but chub, Barbel, tench would be a nice start.

Y

yoggy

WHOOPS ,,JUST REALISED I CANT!!!if you e.mail me lee i"ll return one with a few locations for you ..regards yoggy.

M

mark williams 4

It's usually aboput this time of the year that you can have a good net of bream on the embankment, opposite the mill buildings. You'll need a rod pod ideally, because the bank is concrete slabs, but feeder fishing usually does the trick. I've had some really good roach running a float along the near bank, too, but only when it's really quiet.
If you just fancy a bit of peace and quiet on the Nene, you could try Castor, down Station road on the far side of the village. Park up at the end (no valuables on show!) and take the half-mile walk along the footpath to the right, where there's a nice weir pool and some wide, slow water where I've had bream and roach. The weirpool has a few chub and roach, and the outside chance of a barbel.

J