Shimano Catana Reels

andrew_b

Reaction score
I am hoping that someone here can offer a little friendly advice.

I am extremely new to fishing (sea & course).

As I can't always get to the coast I have recently purchased a John Wilson Signature Avon / Quiver. I was lead to beleive that this was a good "all-round" rod and I managed to get it for ?45.00.

I am now in the market for reel to go with it :)

After walking round & round my local Angling Direct (too scared to ask for help !) I decided that the Shimano Catana Reels seemed good value. Which version would I need ?

Catana 1000R
Catana 3000R
Catana 3000MR
Catana 4000R

The rod is rated to 1 1/4 lb test curve & 3-6lb.

Does anyone have any experience of these or any other budget Shimano reels ?

Is there any other reels I should consider ?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

W

Wolfman Woody

My choice would be the 4000r and I used to have one of those rods and I use Shimano 4000s with other similar rods now.

However, don't give up looking. There's the Shimano Nexave and a chap (from my old hometown) sells them on eBay. He'll take cheques and P/Os and his have 2 aluminum spools as standard, they're much better and worth paying a little extra for.

try clicking here

Colin Smith 3

Reaction score
I recently bought the nexave3000MR from WMAC. Beats every other reel I have hands down. Why the match version you ask? because it takes just the right amount of line (2-4lb) that is useful for general pleasure fishing, without having to put backing on the reel/ fill the reel with yards of line. And it was only ?19.99

andrew_b

Reaction score
Thanks, I've decided to get the Shimano Nexave 3000MR as WMAC have it for ?19.99.

My rod is rated for lene between 3-6 lb, would it be better to get a line in the middle (4-5lb) or go lighter / heavier ?

W

Wolfman Woody

Careful Andrew, WMAC's reels have plastic spools. Remember what I said about the aluminum ones! They really are much better.