River Dane Chub

S

Steve Reeves

I've just read on the Lymm Angling Club web site, news of an angler catching quote "chub to 4lbs 10onz".
I've been fishing the Dane since 1974 including the Lymm Anglers contolled stretches and my personal best chub from this lovely little river is 31/2lbs. I've never seen a 4 pounder come out of the Dane, and I reckon a 3pounder is a good result. Is this 4lbs 10ounce fish a record for this river?

G

Gary Knowles

Dunno Steve but I've fished it on and off for years and by best chub went 3lb-15oz-08dr......you guessed it...my 'mate' weighed it for me !

GrahamM

Managing Editor
Reaction score
My biggest chub from the Dane also weighed 4lb 10oz and was caught in the early 60's. I've fished the Dane hundreds of times since and never caught a better one and the number of chub over 4lb I've caught from the Dane I can count on two hands.

Every time I see a report of 5lb chub from the Dane I ask myself what I've been doing wrong all these years.

And then I promise to get myself a new set of scales.

GrahamM

Managing Editor
Reaction score
Incidentally, you can read Lymm AC's newsletter on FISHINGmagic every week. The latest one, and the one referred to, is here:

<a href=http://www.fishingmagic.com/news/article.asp?SP=&v=1&UAN=1468>Lymm Newsletter</A>

P

Phil Hackett

Steve
I did 10 years of chub fishing on the Dane late 70s early 80s. Over that time I had one chub 4.2 and a handfull of 3s. If the 4s are there, they are not in great numbers.

Possible! with a big BUT

D

David Williams

HI STEVE
what stretch did it come from was it manor farm or daisey brook they are the lymm
stretches have you fished croxton lane

S

Steve Reeves

Hi David,
It didn't say which farm.
Yes I have fished at Croxton. Don't like it , too many people walking the bank.
In my opinion you're wasting your time on the Dane if there are people walking along the sky-line.
I much prefer the "red indian approach"
:))

D

David Williams

HI STEVE