Up or down?

peter crabtree

AKA Simon, 1953 - 2022 (RIP)
Reaction score
A friend and I have been fishing together for about 45 years.
We always have a mini match between us, timed start and finish.
Whoever loses has 1st pick of peg next time.
When we visit the Thames, or any wide river venue he always prefers to be upstream of me. I however prefer to be downstream.
He reckons the fish will come upstream to meet his loosefeed while I feel his loosefeed will feed my swim for me and the better fish will hang back giving me the advantage.
I'll point out that we sit within earshot of each other so no great distance apart.

Where would you pick in this instance?

tilly05

Reaction score
I think I would agree with you and be downstream, it would mean making the most of it as if they follow the trail then they'll soon move right on by upto his swim. But you have first chance of catching. Or if your bait holds them you have double the pulling power. But then your both feeding so would it matter you attract them upstream then he attracts from your area....
Interesting, the more I think the more I argue with myself.

Just sit opposite each other with walkie talkies

barbelboi

Reaction score
It would depend on who had the curry the night before and which way the wind's blowing.................;)

peter crabtree

AKA Simon, 1953 - 2022 (RIP)
Reaction score
Always downstream as they've got to get past me to get to him.

Unless its Maidment on the upstream peg armed with his usual gallon of maggot in which case I dont care as long as its at least half a mile away

Interesting reply Skip. So would heavier feeding by the upstream angler win the day?
I remember you and Phil coming down to Walton on Thames a few years back.
That day I was upstream from you both and as far as I remember I did quite well?

S-Kippy

Reaction score
Stuck on the chuffin M25 somewhere between Heathro
Interesting reply Skip. So would heavier feeding by the upstream angler win the day?