Trotting on the Severn. Advice on tatics and equipment.

clutch

Reaction score
I want to give float fishing a try on the Severn. I have never used a float on the river, and could use some help if any of you experienced anglers have some to share.

I have purchased a 13ft Shakespeare Mach 2 XT, it is rated up line strengths of 6lb and a casting weight of 20 grams. It was a bit of a impulsive buy, I picked it up for £15 in the black friday sales. I want to fish for a bit of everything, silvers, chub, perch, maybe the odd barbel if they should turn up. Is this rod suited to this?

The next issue I have is what kind of reel to get. I know that A lot of purists will say a centrepin is the way to go, others will say opt for a closed face reel. I am not sure what to go for. I think I would prefer an 'conventional' reel as opposed to a centrepin as I have no experience with one. Does anyone have any recommendations on what I should be looking for when it comes to reels?

Also, what kind/weight of line should I be looking for? I could also use advice on float type, hook lengths rigs, what sort of swims I should be looking for etc.

And finally, I am unsure just how to trot effectively. On a open faced reel you leave the bail arm open and let the float take line off as it moves downstream?

I know its a lot of questions, but its a bit daunting if you have not done it before.

I would be grateful for any help.

Thanks chaps.

Another Dave

Reaction score
And finally, I am unsure just how to trot effectively. On a open faced reel you leave the bail arm open and let the float take line off as it moves downstream?