maver oculus

hawb811

Reaction score
does anyone have a maver oculus pole, i need a new pole that my maver top kits will fit, im using the maver elite carp 2 and it has seen better days, im looking at the oculus 799 but like to know if its any good

sagalout

Reaction score
I had a 799, I thought it was amazing for the money. Light, strong and well balanced. It was very good up to 13 metres, 14.5 was good but not something I would want too do for hours on end and it was manageable at 16 metres. I must tell you I am not an expert on poles but I really liked it.

I sold because I broke the number 4 and lost the top kit then a week later I broke a top kit (both incidents were my fault) and I decided I could do without a long pole because the waters I fish don't have islands/features within 16 metres so a margin pole is the only pole I use now.

I might have a slight bias in the 799's favour because I bought mine brand new from a retailer on ebay for £500.

sagalout

Reaction score
If you mean pulling sideways (ie putting a bend in it), that's how I broke it both times. Long poles are not made for pulling sideways, only a margin pole is designed for that but even they have their limits. I haven't broken my beastmaster 850b yet!

hawb811

Reaction score
thats put me off a bit now, whats going to happen when i hit a double and it races to a snag, i have a beastmaster margin but cant carry 2 poles on a motorbike, i have no issues the elite 2 handling doubles but its had a lot of wear now. im surprised at how many have been sold around the country and only 1 person has replied to the thread

sagalout

Reaction score
Is that the elite carp 2? I had one of those as well. The elite carp 2 is a better pole than the oculus 799 but it was a lot more money. If I was going back to a long pole I would go for either the Drennan Acolyte Carp at 13m for around a grand the Maver Darkside 2 and 3 regularly appear in the sales as real bargain prices.

markcw

Exiled Northerner