River fishing help please

fishplate42

Reaction score
Although I have been fishing for nearly four years now, most of it has been on commercial stillwaters. Where I live, here in London, we have several small rivers that have a small head of fish in them. We often walk along the rivers (for exercise) and have spent a fair bit of time looking for fish, mostly without much luck. Recently, however, we have spotted several reasonably sized chublet and a fair few perch. Yesterday we found a whole lot of fish in one pool that were taking maggots and bread that we had taken along to see if we could encourage them to feed, and feed they did. See HERE.

That was yesterday morning. It was raining as we stood and watched the fish take the feed. It then continued to rain all afternoon and, on and off through the night. Today when we went back to have a go at catching a fish, the water was slightly higher, only by a few inches, and it had coloured up slightly. I could still make out the bottom in places, but the weeds and some deeper parts were now out of sight.

We tried feeding some maggots but there was no interest. it seemed like all the fish had gone. We walked down stream for a couple of miles and did not see a fish anywhere. We even stopped at our favoured fishing spot to dangle a line into the opaque water for a while, only to fine that the maggot had not even been sucked by the small roach.

My question is, what happened to all the fish? Have they just gone to ground or do they not feed after a few hours of not particularly heavy rain? Not only did we not catch any, we did not see a single fish or even the sign of a fish all morning.

Ralph.

Keith M

Reaction score
They might still be there and resting in places away from the increased current (caused by the extra water from the rainfall overnight) usually along the edge or behind obstructions or in slightly deeper eddies, and out of sight.