Can you help me choose the right hook bait (feeder fishing)?

sylvanillo

Reaction score
Good afternoon,

I wonder if some kind soul would help me choose the right bait to use, this is mainly for bream and roach. The good soul(s) could well get a tasty belgian beer on my return to Uk ;)

Over the last months as a total beginner with feeder fishing, I've been trying a variety of baits, either on the hook itself or on a hair rig. The hair rig with a quickstop is quite cool for me, as the needle is long enough so I don't "mix my fingers" which sometimes happen. Hey noone's perfect.

Since a warmer weather has settled (frequently over 30 here since May), the number of bites for me has really decreased which I've found very surprising? I suspect I'm doing something very wrong. My two last sessions, one early morning, one late evening, gave me each a total blank. My little one would say "Oh noooo, not that again!!!"

Mainly I've tried 3 families of hookbaits:

- Cheese, either a cube of cheddar, or a fake worm covered with home-made cheese paste. On 2 occasions at the end of the winter and beginning of spring, I probably had about 100 takes in one session. The thing is, later it stopped working!

- Durable Hook soft pellets (Dynamite Baits)

The white amino 8 mm lasts super long, it's a bit harder than the red krill one.
They have also F1 sweet (yellow) and Betaine (green), that I haven't tried yet.

- Swim stim match mini boilies (Dynamite Baits)

They're smaller, harder, brighter, and need a band on the hair.

I had two carp on Mini boilie pink + White amino 8 mm.

The species that I target are the easy ones at my level for now, bream and roach.
What would you advise, something I can buy from a tackle shop but I'm also happy to try anything from the food store!

Now in terms of ground mix, if you wonder, I simply do this one from the Goldfish experience channel. When the water is deep, I add mixed Frolic. (Hmmm what a smell!!)

Thank you in advance.

stillwater blue