Float fishing on a canal

Gaston664

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm fairly new at fishing, been going to the same ponds for a few months now float fishing.

I've had some nice carp and bucket loads of bream.

The canal near me is free to fish provided you have a rod licence so I'm gunna try it out soon.

Is there anything I should bear in mind? Anything I should do differently on a canal vs what I do on the ponds?

I'm also going to try lure fishing for perch on the canal but that is for another time.

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
^^^^^^ he knows better than most of us.

iannate

The fish made me do it!
Reaction score
Since you haven’t said what you currently do on your ponds, it’s a bit difficult to say what to do differently :wh

However, there are some generalisations that you can use, but much depends on what you hope to catch, what is in the canal that you’re going to fish and what tackle you have:

As PC mentioned, you’ll be looking to use light tackle – line, floats and hooks.

Spend plenty of time plumbing up: generally canals are shallower on the inside and far side with a channel down the middle.

Fish will generally stay near cover, so any twig sticking out can be a good place to find them, a good overgrown area or tree can be even better.

Fish a few swims from the same place - at least three, but more likely six (using a clock face something like 10, 12 and 2 O'Clock on the inside and far side) with ‘going over’ [to the far side] left until later on and not ignoring under your feet.

Beware: boats can remove all traces of your feed (and tackle) – chose your time to go carefully (early morning is best, be set up before sunrise ideally).